Vegetarian Pan of Scouse

20121023-011948.jpg

I am from Liverpool. So obviously absolutely love a pan of scouse (probably known to everyone else as stew). I don’t really care what you call it, as long as you make it and eat it.
My memory of scouse is of my Grandma’s – and was beautiful. Homemade, honest and delicious. And my Mum has since made it many times – and adapted it to be veggie to suit my brother using Quorn mince. Tastes just as nice to me, and also contains something like 80% less fat – like the advert says! Handy bonus.
So I wanted to make it last week, and rang my mum for the ingredients. The only thing was she knew what to get, but when asked how much of anything, replied with a bit of a vague non-answer, about how I’d ‘just know’. Unsatisfied I thought I’d find some quantities online for a scouse, if not a stew. Nope. Couldn’t find anything. Anyway, ended up buying wayyyy too much, but suppose I did ‘just know’ and didn’t use it all. So here’s the veggie recipe for a bloody amazing taste of Liverpool.

Ingredients
– 2 white onions, chopped up.
– 3 large carrots, chopped into discs.
– 6 Maris Piper medium sized potatoes, peeled and chopped into 2cm bite sized pieces.
– Quorn mince (500g).
– Bouillon vegetable stock (I think I made a litre up and used just under this, but best to have too much in case it goes a bit dry).
– Mixed herbs (a healthy sprinkle).
– Salt and pepper.
– Half a bag of washed spinach.

Recipe
– Fry the onions in a large pan on a medium heat. When they’ve softened, add the potatoes. Leave for them to soften a little bit too.
– Add the mince and mix well. Then add the carrots, and finally add the stock until it’s about 2 cm from the top of the mixture.
– Add the herbs, salt and pepper, and mix well. Leave to simmer for at least 20 minutes. If possible, make this in the morning and reheat at night for dinner – the potatoes will have soaked up all the juices and makes it 10x as amazing. Or reheat the leftovers the next day. Yum.
– When ready to serve, throw in the spinach until it’s wilted down.
– Serve with pickled beetroot and/or red cabbage, and a generous squirt of brown sauce or ketchup – much to my mum’s dismay – its got to be done!!

Leave a Reply

